How Sweet It Is

The holiday season is officially here when The Nutcracker hits the stage; seeing this classic ballet with a Christmas theme has become a tradition for many families. “Everybody loves the story of Clara and the Nutcracker coming to life and going to the land of the sweets and meeting the Sugar Plum Fairy,” says Gil Boggs, artistic director of Colorado Ballet.

The story will come to life this year with choreography by Marius Petipa, scenery by José Varona and the Colorado Ballet Orchestra playing Tchaikovsky’s score live, which adds to the experience. “Not only are you seeing the dancers on the stage, but also the orchestra in the pit,” Boggs notes.

“Part of my job is putting a smile on children’s faces,” he continues. But it’s not just the children in the audience who’ll be smiling: More than ninety students from the Colorado Ballet Academy will also be performing in several scenes.

The magic continues at the Ellie Caulkins Opera House in the Denver Performing Arts Complex through December 24, and both Governor Hickenlooper and former Gov. Bill Owens will appear on stage at the 6:30 performance on December 23. Tickets range from $28 to $154; to purchase yours, or for more information, visit www.coloradoballet.org or call 303-837-8888.
Sat., Nov. 24, 2 & 7:30 p.m.; Sun., Nov. 25, 2 p.m.; Sat., Dec. 1, 2 & 7:30 p.m.; Sun., Dec. 2, 2 p.m.; Fri., Dec. 7, 7:30 p.m.; Sat., Dec. 8, 2 & 7:30 p.m.; Sun., Dec. 9, 2 p.m.; Fri., Dec. 14, 7:30 p.m.; Sat., Dec. 15, 2 & 7:30 p.m.; Sun., Dec. 16, 2 & 6:30 p.m.; Tue., Dec. 18, 1 p.m.; Wed., Dec. 19, 1 p.m.; Fri., Dec. 21, 1 & 6:30 p.m.; Sat., Dec. 22, 2 & 7:30 p.m.; Sun., Dec. 23, 2 & 6:30 p.m.; Mon., Dec. 24, 1 p.m., 2012

 
My Voice Nation Help
0 comments
 
Loading...