All the World's a Stage

Early this year, it looked as if the Colorado Shakespeare Festival might be on its last legs. But after some re-organization, a strong marketing push and a tightening of the festival's focus, the New York Times named the CSF one of the summer's hot tickets -- and A Midsummer Night's Dream opened to a packed and highly appreciative audience that included dozens of people who had never attended a CSF production before.

According to acting artistic director Timothy Orr, tickets continue to sell well, with the next couple of Dreams close to sold out. And the festival continues its ascendence with another prominent mention in yesterday's New York Times titled "What Creators These Mortals Be."

In the piece, writer Steven McElroy discusses the ubiquity of summer presentations of Dream and the different concepts being employed by seven companies, including the Royal Shakespeare Company and the International Festival of Arts and Ideas, a production of the Bristol Old Vic in conjunction with the Handspring Puppet Company of South Africa. The Colorado Shakespeare Festival, complete with quotes from director Geoffrey Kent, is first in the line-up.

Location Info

Map

Mary Rippon Outdoor Theatre

CU-Boulder campus
Boulder, CO 80302

Category: Performing Arts Venues

Region: Boulder

For more on this year's fest, read Juliet Wittman's June 6 article, "Does the Colorado Shakespeare Festival Deserve a Second Act?" at westword.com/2013-06-06/news/colorado-shakespeare-festival.
Sat., June 8; Sat., June 15, 8 p.m.; Sat., June 22, 8 p.m.; Sat., July 6, 8 p.m.; Sun., July 21, 6:30 p.m.; Tue., July 23, 6:30 p.m.; Wed., July 24, 6:30 p.m.; Sun., July 28, 6:30 p.m.; Sat., Aug. 3, 8 p.m.; Sun., Aug. 4, 6:30 p.m.; Tue., Aug. 6, 6:30 p.m.; Wed., Aug. 7, 6:30 p.m.; Thu., Aug. 8, 8 p.m.; Sun., Aug. 11, 6:30 p.m., 2013

 
My Voice Nation Help
0 comments
 
Loading...