Book It: The Five Best Literary Events This WeekEXPAND
Gunbarrel Pop-Up Comic Con

Book It: The Five Best Literary Events This Week

With Thanksgiving behind us, we're heading quickly into gift-giving season. Knock a few names off your shopping list while treating yourself to some thought-provoking talk — and beer! — at this week's best literary events.

Book It: The Five Best Literary Events This Week (2)
New Social Publications

Phil Goodstein, The Story of Modern East Denver
7 p.m. Monday, November 27
Tattered Cover
2526 East Colfax Avenue

Phil Goodstein has been a fixture in the local history community for years, and his new book, Magnificent Mayfair, Beautiful Belleview, Hale, Hilltop, and Hospitals: The Story of Modern East Denver continues his in-depth look at this city's neighborhoods. Come for the history, stay for the alliteration.

Mindy McGinnis, This Darkness Mine
7 p.m. Friday, December 1
BookBar
4280 Tennyson Street

From Edgar Award-winning author Mindy McGinnis comes a new psychological thriller in the tradition of Gone Girl and Fight Club. Have some wine, listen to McGinnis read from This Darkness Mine, get a book (or two!) signed, and make an evening of it.

Books and beer with Marie and Jamie Fox at Gunbarrel.
Books and beer with Marie and Jamie Fox at Gunbarrel.
Gunbarrel Brewing

Gunbarrel Pop-Up Comic Con
11 a.m. to 4 p.m. Saturday, December 2
Gunbarrel Brewing Company
7088 Winchester Circle, Boulder

Wrap up your holiday shopping nerd-style at this free event featuring original comics, art, gifts and more. Another local comic-con is present enough, but this comes with craft beer and Farm & Smoke food-truck deliciousness for a four-color festival of fabulous.

Helen Thorpe, author of The Newcomers: Finding Refuge, Friendship and Hope in an American Classroom.
Helen Thorpe, author of The Newcomers: Finding Refuge, Friendship and Hope in an American Classroom.
Marea Evans

Helen Thorpe, The Newcomers
7:30 p.m. December 2
BookBar
4280 Tennyson Street

Helen Thorpe, author of Soldier Girls and Just Like Us, will be at BookBar to read from and sign her latest book, The Newcomers: Finding Refuge, Friendship, and Hope in an American Classroom, which follows 22 students, most of them refugees, through a year of English-language class at South High School. The students, the teacher and the book itself are all remarkable. Read a chapter of The Newcomers here.

Book It: The Five Best Literary Events This Week (3)
Kelly Kline at Flickr

Joe Biden, Promise Me, Dad
Saturday, December 2
Paramount Theatre
1621 Glenarm Street

Joe Biden, former veep and prince of memes, brings his plainspoken and scrappy style to the Mile High City for a stop on his American Promise tour, a series of conversations across the country focusing on our nation, its challenges, and the hope for its future. Not to mention his book, Promise Me, Dad: A Year of Hope, Hardship, and Purpose, which is sure to contain precisely zero percent malarkey.

Newsletters

All-access pass to the top stories, events and offers around town.

  • Top Stories
    Send:

Newsletters

All-access pass to top stories, events and offers around town.

Sign Up >

No Thanks!

Remind Me Later >