Recommended For YouPowered by SailThru

Musical Mentors

Although a classic in its own right, Run-DMC's version of "Walk This Way" isn't the type of reimagining that the Marcus Roberts Trio has in mind. No disrespect to the guys sans shoelaces, but Re-Creative Fusion is a more complicated animal.

Tonight, starting at 7:30 p.m. in Macky Auditorium on the University of Colorado at Boulder campus, the Boulder Philharmonic Orchestra presents the world premiere of Luis Jorge González's "The Wonderful City" and continues with the Marcus Roberts Trio fusing improvisational jazz with Gershwin's Concerto in F.

It works like this: The orchestra plays a slightly altered original score, and the Trio improvises. But during times of Trio-only improvisation, how does the conductor know when to step back in? "I use a system of musical cues," says Roberts, "so when the conductor hears maybe a certain set of chords, he knows exactly where we are and brings the orchestra back on the precise beat. Of course, when the orchestra is playing, we're following the conductor — otherwise there would be chaos."

Brahms's "Variations on a Theme by Joseph Haydn" and Hindemith's "Symphonic Metamorphoses" are also on the program. Tickets are $10 to $65 for adults, $5 for children and students. For more information, go to
Sat., Nov. 3, 7:30-9:30 p.m., 2007


All-access pass to the top stories, events and offers around town.

  • Top Stories


All-access pass to top stories, events and offers around town.

Sign Up >

No Thanks!

Remind Me Later >