Senses Fail

It's appropriate that Senses Fail is on the "Taste of Chaos" tour, since the New Jersey band's music hints at anarchy without succumbing to it. Still Searching, released last year on the Vagrant imprint, features the usual emo ingredients: dark guitar textures, chugging tempos, lyrical dourness with monikers to match (e.g., "Can't Be Saved"), and singing courtesy of James "Buddy" Nielsen that intermittently gives way to you-don't-understand-me! screams. Rather than allowing these characteristics to fly off in all directions, however, the boys, along with a sound team headed by producer Brian McTernan and mixer Chris Lord-Alge, bundle them in tight, convenient packages. If the results aren't exactly original, they're generally effective, especially when guitarists Heath Saraceno and Garrett Zablocki are given the opportunity to briefly stray from the melody for the length of a solo or two. Granted, such excursions fall well short of pandemonium. But at least Senses Fail, which shares this bill with 30 Seconds to Mars, the Used, Aiden, Chiodos, Saosin and Evaline, offers listeners a taste.


All-access pass to the top stories, events and offers around town.

  • Top Stories


All-access pass to top stories, events and offers around town.

Sign Up >

No Thanks!

Remind Me Later >