The Trubelos

There's a lot of energy in the first three cuts of the Trubelos' debut long-player, Boomerang Girl, including the up-tempo countrified rocker "All I Want to Do is You," the blues shuffle of Little Walter's "Little By Little," and the twangy title cut. But while the vigor is there, it seems like singer Lauren Michaels puts more emphasis on belting it out instead of concentrating on pitch. Even on slower cuts, like the cover of Concrete Blonde's "Joey" and Susan Tedeschi's "It Hurt So Bad," she's a little pitchy, but she does a noble job on "Chain of Fools" and "Jolene." If anything, Boomerang Girl shows that the Trubelos (short for truth, beauty, love) know their way around rock, blues and country.


All-access pass to the top stories, events and offers around town.

  • Top Stories


All-access pass to top stories, events and offers around town.

Sign Up >

No Thanks!

Remind Me Later >