MORE

This Just In 9/11-9/17

Buddy Guy joins former Hendrix sidemen Mitch Mitchell and Billy Cox as part of Experience Hendrix at the Paramount Theatre October 30.
Buddy Guy joins former Hendrix sidemen Mitch Mitchell and Billy Cox as part of Experience Hendrix at the Paramount Theatre October 30.

Buddy Guy joins former Hendrix sidemen Mitch Mitchell and Billy Cox as part of Experience Hendrix at the Paramount Theatre October 30.

Although Jimi Hendrix died nearly four decades ago, he continues to inspire countless numbers of guitar players like Buddy Guy, Jonny Lang, Kenny Wayne Shepherd and Eric Johnson, all of whom will join former Hendrix sidemen Mitch Mitchell and Billy Cox on a five-week tour celebrating Hendrix's music and stopping in Denver on October 30. There should be some heavy axe-slinging. In other news, the Global Drum Project (featuring Grateful Dead drummer Mickey Hart) show at the Boulder Theater on October 11 was canceled. Here's a rundown of the other shows going on sale this weekend, or recently announced. For ticket information, click on the venue links.

Bender's Tavern

Acheronian Dirge: With Zombie Hate Brigade, And Hell Followed and Achral Necrosis, Sat., Oct. 4, 8 p.m., $6.

Ross Christopher: With Kyle Galanaugh and Dore Taylore, Wed., Oct. 15, 9 p.m., $5.

Kastasyde: With Try Redemption, SmackFactor and Multiple Death Syndrome, Fri., Oct. 3, 8 p.m., $7.

Slow Dynamite: With Fissure Mystic and Action Friend, Sat., Oct. 18, 9 p.m., $5.

Von Iva: Tue., Oct. 28, 9 p.m., $5.

Bluebird Theater

Missy Higgins: Tue., Oct. 28, 8 p.m., $20/$22.

Jack's Mannequin: Wed., Nov. 5, 8 p.m., $28.

Boulder Theater

Mason Jennings: With Zach Gill (of Jack Johnson and ALO), Fri., Nov. 21, 9 p.m., $22.50/$25.

Rose Hill Drive: Dec. 30-31, 9:30 p.m., $24-$32.50.

Colfax Events Center

Loudon Wainwright III: Fri., Nov. 7.

Fillmore Auditorium

Michael Franti & Spearhead: Nov. 28-29, 8 p.m., $27.50-$55.

Fox Theatre

Mercury Rev: With Dean & Britta, Sun., Dec. 14, 8 p.m.

Gothic Theatre

Calexico: With Bowerbirds, Mon., Nov. 24, 8 p.m., $10/$12.

GWAR: With Kingdom of Sorrow and Toxic Holocaus, Sat., Nov. 29, 7 p.m., $10/$12.

Larimer Lounge

Awesome Color: Thu., Oct. 2, $8/$10.

Crystal Anters: With Sybris and A Decent Animal, Tue., Oct. 14, $8/$10.

Ogden Theatre

Café Tacuba: Sun., Nov. 9, 8 p.m., $34/$40.

Matisyahu: With K'Naan, Sat., Nov. 29, 9 p.m., $25.

Reverend Horton Heat: Fri., Jan. 30, 9 p.m., $9.33-$25.

The Sisters of Mercy: Thu., Nov. 20, 8 p.m., $32.50/$35.

Paramount Theatre

Experience Hendrix: Featuring Buddy, Guy, Jonny Lang, Kenny Wayne Shepherd, Eric Johnson, Cesar Rojas, David Hildago, Mitch Mitchell, Billy Cox and more, Thu., Oct. 30, 8 p.m., $39.50-$99.

The Soiled Dove Underground

Greg Brown: Sat., Jan. 17.

Guitar Shorty: Wed., Oct. 8.

JD Souther: Tue., Nov. 25.

Wild Sweet Orange: Tue., Oct. 7.

Temple Buell Theatre

Vince Gill: Sun., Nov. 2, 7:30 p.m., $39.50-$69.50.

The Walnut Room

The Alternate Routes: Tue., Oct. 21, 8:30 p.m., $12.

Bearkat: With Ellison Park and Gia Ashe, Thu., Oct. 2, 8 p.m., $8.

Amy Macdonald: With the Build Up, Wed., Sept. 24, 7:30 p.m., $12/$15.


Sponsor Content