MORE

Ticketmaster fan reviews of ten Colorado acts

Ticketmaster fan reviews of ten Colorado acts
Eric Gruneisen

So we were looking something up on Ticketmaster the other day, and it turns out the site is quite a treasure trove of fan reviews. Kind of like the Yelp of music, only without all the vitriol. Who knew, right? Granted, some of the criticism is misdirected, from complaints about the sound or the venue to the merits of the opening acts or the elements, but the reviews are at least honest. Out of curiosity, we plugged in ten of the more marquee names from the scene, and here's how they fared, based on the number of reviews.

See also: 25 reasons the Denver music scene rules

Ticketmaster fan reviews of ten Colorado acts
Erin Preston

10. Gregory Alan Isakov

5/5 stars (5 reviews)

Thumbs Up: "I was totally absorbed by his voice, his humble quiet way and brilliant music. This was my first introduction to him live and will now be following him constantly. It is amazing to see such raw talent oozing from him and his group. Truly brilliant." - Greenbottle, Bowery Ballroom - New York, NY, 7/18/13

Thumbs Down: None to speak of.

Ticketmaster fan reviews of ten Colorado acts
Alicia J. Rose

9. Leftover Salmon

4.9 / 5 (18 reviews)

Thumbs Up: "I have never seen these guys before, but I love bluegrass. These guys were a little electric, which I like, but I don't love drums with a bluegrass band. This is the only reason I didn't give them 5 stars. Incredible banjo player." - Wanker101, Paradise Rock Club - Boston, MA, 10/4/12

Thumbs (sorta) Down: "Loved the energy, the connection onstage, the great music that went on forever, the guest musicians, every bit of it. But I was a bit disappointed to meet them afterward and learn they weren't very nice. Onstage, a different facade." - BabyBoomerBloomer, The Orange Peel - Asheville, NC, 10/8/12

Ticketmaster fan reviews of ten Colorado acts
Aaron Thackeray

8. Breathe Carolina

4.7 / 5 (57 reviews)

Thumbs Up: "Breathe Carolina. I fall more in love with them each time I listen to them, and hearing them live increases that love tenfold!! Dave and Kyle are simply THE BEST. Amazing voices, amazing songs, amazing energy, amazing personality, just plain amazing guys!! They never fail to tell us that they love us, and we love them too!!!" - Marceline, Newport Music Hall - Colombus, OH, 4/26/12

Thumbs (sorta) Down: "The closer was Breathe Carolina and I was really on the fence with them. I have a couple of their cds, but don't listen much because it's too poppy for me, but they really added the rock to their live shows. I also didn't know they actually played instruments. The guitarist even plays a keytar, haha. Everyone was jumping and/or dancing and I was impressed with the set they put together." - MrNumber9, Paradise Rock Club, Boston, MA, 8/13/11

Ticketmaster fan reviews of ten Colorado acts
Brandon Marshall

7. DeVotchKa

4.7 / 5 (63 reviews)

Thumbs Up: "Never has a concert moved me as much as this concert. It was simply the best concert I've ever been to. Nick (lead vocalist) had perfect pitch through every song; watching Tom on the violin and accordion was hypnotizing, his ability is mind-bending." - eLindemann, Sixth & I Historic Synagogue - Washington, DC, 9/13/12

Thumbs Down: "DeVotchKa, though extremely talented and musically diverse put on a great show, with attention to detail -- augmenting their act with live dancers, shadowplays and projected images. However, all of the skill seemed to be for naught, as their stage presence didn't really seem to stir the audience and the tunes all ended up coming across as a generic melange of international instrumentation, all averaging out to the same basic song, over and over. I was hoping to be blow away, and was neither under- nor over-... I was simply whelmed." - MusicBoxer, The Music Box - Hollywood, CA, 3/12/11

Ticketmaster fan reviews of ten Colorado acts
Aaron Thackeray

6. String Cheese Incident

4.7/5 (148 reviews)

Thumbs Up: "This was my first String Cheese show and first time at the Red Rocks and I basically experienced the best concert of my existence. Beautiful people in a beautiful setting hardly describe the sheer magnificence of this spectacle. The music was ridiculously insane! I knew the Cheese were good, but by all means if you have not seen them GO SEE A SHOW! They are some of the most versatile players out there and it shows when they go from rock to bluegrass to funk and finally it's just a strait up dance party. Words can hardly do this performance justice, but it was worth the money a thousand times over." - Hurricane9915, Red Rocks Amphitheatre - Morrison, CO, 7/26/13

Thumbs Down: "I am a huge Cheese fan but I was extremely disappointed in this show. Seemed like it was more about the light show than the music. I am scared to see them again in case this is the band that shows up. Bummer...could have been so cool at Red Rocks too." - Patrick227, Red Rocks Amphitheatre - Morrison, CO, 7/23/13

Ticketmaster fan reviews of ten Colorado acts
Aaron Thackeray

5. 3OH!3

4.6 / 5 (252 reviews)

Thumbs Up: "The show at the state theater was amazing! 3oh!3 sounded great and of course, they were also hilarious. The whole time I honestly felt bad for everyone else who wasn't at the show - because it was SO GOOD they all missed out! I don't understand how more people aren't die hard fans because they are amazingly talented and so fun!" - ChelseaDiane1996, The Paramount - Huntington, NY, 5/5/12

Thumbs Down: "I saw 3Oh!3 live at Warped Tour this past summer, and I have to say that they were pretty awful. I never minded their music before this; it's catchy enough to be vaguely entertaining. However, at Warped Tour they only had enough songs to cover about half of their half hour time slot, and they tried to fill in the gaps with lame jokes that no one laughed at and failed covers of other artists' songs. At one point, they tried to play a cover of Usher's "DJ Got Us Falling In Love;" unfortunately, they forgot the lyrics and the attempt died before the end of the first verse. Frankly, I was embarrassed for them." - Anonymous, Warped Tour 2011 - Camden, NJ, 9/14/11

Ticketmaster fan reviews of ten Colorado acts
Eric Gruneisen

4. Big Head Todd & the Monsters

4.6 / 5 (273 reviews)

Thumbs Up: "This was a great show if you enjoy the blues and want to hear some masterful musicians take you on a trip. Started with stripped down Robert Johnson blues. Half the show included legendary bluesmen Hubert Sumllin and James Cotton (on the mississippi saxaphone). And ended with some ripping Chicago blues. It was an excellent trip. -some shows include Honeyboy Edwards rather than Cotton. In any event, the Big Head Todd core has fun while taking on on the blues ride." -- Juice01, Uptown Theater - Kansas City, MO, 2/12/11

Thumbs Down: "This event had Big Head Todd and the Monsters as their top billed act. BHT played NONE of their originals and the event was terribly misrepresented. My group bought four tickets at 70 dollars each for a show we did not even expect or enjoy. When I discussed this with the onsite box office, the promoter refused remediation. To say we were extremely disappointed would be an understatement. We traveled from out of town, spent hundreds on hotels and gas and time, for a show we were not even expecting." - Anonymous, Uptown Theater - Kansas City, MO, 2/12/11

Ticketmaster fan reviews of ten Colorado acts
Eric Gruneisen

3. Pretty Lights

4.7 / 5 (651 reviews)

Thumbs Up: "Derek Smith's performances are always phenomenal. His energy, presentation, palpable love and appreciation for what he does for everyone before him leaves the crowd with an insatiable hunger for more good tunes to bounce to. All the way throu, people sway their arms, back and forth, to the brilliantly composed songs of a man who knew exactly what path he was destined to take. Staying true to their roots, Pretty Lights continues to refresh and restore our souls with a creative blend of electronic, soulful hip hop sounds that never leaves the crowd still at any moment." - Anonymous, Bill Graham Civic Auditorium - San Francisco, CA, 9/14/12

Thumbs Down: "Lights were the best part.. everything else.. just ok way over rated." - Sevan, Nashville Municipal Auditorium - Nashville, TN, 10/31/11

Ticketmaster fan reviews of ten Colorado acts
Eric Gruneisen

2. Lumineers

4.7 / 5 (449 reviews)

Thumbs Up: "I was constantly enthralled with the performance and the musicianship of the performers. I would recommend this show to anyone who misses hearing music with true heart and soul. It felt as if the band wasn't trying to impress or do what was expected. They just played an amazing show staying true to themselves and their craft." - Hilmin, Greek Theatre, Los Angeles, CA, 10/2/13

Thumbs Down: "And the music. Paid alot more to see others....wouldn't pay to see Lumineers again. I don't think I'd go watch them again even if it were free. Too full of themselves and the music wasn't from the heart. Sorry." - boringnight0, Canandaigua, New York, 6/7/13

Ticketmaster fan reviews of ten Colorado acts
Brandon Marshall

1. The Fray

4.6 / 5 (1,658 reviews)

Thumbs Up: "MAN, I love this group!!!! They are so good, crazy talented!!!!!!! The lead singer plays so many instruments and has the best voice I've ever heard. I'm a huge fan, but this just made me an even bigger one. I ran into Issac Slade (the lead singer) in Reno - randomly walking through a casino. Nicest guy." - jsddunning, Fox Theater - Oakland, CA, 2/20/12

Thumbs Down: "The Fray! Well lets just say all their songs sounded exactly the same. It's like he wasn't really into being there. People actually were leaving half way through the show. Would probably stayed home if I knew it was going to be a poor showing." - MikeP58, Ironstone Amphitheatre - CA, 6/18/10