Party-permit law for Boulder proposed by official after Todd Walker shooting
Should the City of Boulder pass a law requiring "party permits" for the type of large, alcohol-fueled house parties thrown by CU students living in the University Hill neighborhood? This is one of the measures Boulder Councilwoman Lisa Morzel is calling for in response to the slaying of Todd Walker.
The University of New Hampshire football player was walking home with a female friend when he was shot and killed. Kevin McGregor of Longmont is facing charges for the murder.
Apparently, Walker and McGregor had attended several St. Patrick's Day house parties on the Hill that evening, including one in the courtyard of an apartment complex that erupted into a "riot" when police tried to break it up.
But even if one can draw a correlation between this type of tragic gun killing (very rare for Boulder) and over-blown college keggers (about as uncommon in Boulder as recycling bins and flip-flops), the incident has revived efforts by officials to crack down on off-campus ragers.
According to the Boulder Daily Camera:
Morzel on Tuesday said that it's time for the city to take action to control parties on the Hill, possibly by requiring hosts to pay for city permits and have on-site security and even portable bathrooms.
"I got this idea back when we were dealing with the riots in the early 2000s," Morzel said. "We had seven riots -- each one cost about half a million dollars."
Colorado Rockies vs. San Francisco Giants
TicketsMon., Sep. 4, 1:10pm
Colorado Rockies vs. San Diego Padres
TicketsFri., Sep. 15, 6:40pm
Colorado Rockies vs. Miami Marlins
TicketsMon., Sep. 25, 6:40pm
Colorado Rockies vs. Los Angeles Dodgers
TicketsFri., Sep. 29, 6:10pm
Denver Outlaws / Major League Lacrosse All Star Game
TicketsSat., Dec. 29, 6:00pm
It's still unclear what such permits would look like.
In an effort to regulate partying among students at Rutgers University, the city of New Brunswick, New Jersey, passed an ordinance in 2006 that requires all residents to purchase a party permit seven working days in advance of any gathering with more than fifty people. Any permit must first be approved by the police and an outside inspector. Anyone who throws a party without a permit may be subject to a fine of $150 to $1,000 or imprisonment for up to ten days.
Think that might be too Big Brother even for Boulder?
More from our News archive: "Naked Pumpkin Run participants: Boulder DA Stan Garnett doesn't think you're sex offenders."