Lists

Book It: The Five Best Literary Events This Week

Gunbarrel Pop-Up Comic Con
With Thanksgiving behind us, we're heading quickly into gift-giving season. Knock a few names off your shopping list while treating yourself to some thought-provoking talk — and beer! — at this week's best literary events.

click to enlarge
New Social Publications
Phil Goodstein, The Story of Modern East Denver
7 p.m. Monday, November 27
Tattered Cover
2526 East Colfax Avenue
Phil Goodstein has been a fixture in the local history community for years, and his new book, Magnificent Mayfair, Beautiful Belleview, Hale, Hilltop, and Hospitals: The Story of Modern East Denver continues his in-depth look at this city's neighborhoods. Come for the history, stay for the alliteration.

Mindy McGinnis, This Darkness Mine
7 p.m. Friday, December 1
BookBar
4280 Tennyson Street
From Edgar Award-winning author Mindy McGinnis comes a new psychological thriller in the tradition of Gone Girl and Fight Club. Have some wine, listen to McGinnis read from This Darkness Mine, get a book (or two!) signed, and make an evening of it.


Books and beer with Marie and Jamie Fox at Gunbarrel.
Gunbarrel Brewing
Gunbarrel Pop-Up Comic Con
11 a.m. to 4 p.m. Saturday, December 2
Gunbarrel Brewing Company
7088 Winchester Circle, Boulder
Wrap up your holiday shopping nerd-style at this free event featuring original comics, art, gifts and more. Another local comic-con is present enough, but this comes with craft beer and Farm & Smoke food-truck deliciousness for a four-color festival of fabulous.

KEEP WESTWORD FREE... Since we started Westword, it has been defined as the free, independent voice of Denver, and we'd like to keep it that way. With local media under siege, it's more important than ever for us to rally support behind funding our local journalism. You can help by participating in our "I Support" program, allowing us to keep offering readers access to our incisive coverage of local news, food and culture with no paywalls.
Teague Bohlen is a writer, novelist and professor at the University of Colorado Denver. His first novel, The Pull of the Earth, won the Colorado Book Award for Literary Fiction in 2007; his textbook The Snarktastic Guide to College Success came out in 2014. His new collection of flash fiction, Flatland, is available now.
Contact: Teague Bohlen