Music News

AEG Live's Mile High Music and Arts Festival Lineup Announced

Update: Click here and here for live blog coverage of the entire event.

Tom Petty and Dave Matthews will be bookending AEG's inaugural Mile High Music and Arts Festival, on Saturday, July 19 and Sunday, July 20, respectively. The rest of the bill will be filled out by top shelf acts like John Mayer, the Black Crowes, Spoon, moe. and the Roots, as well as mid-level up-and-comers such as OneRepublic, Colbie Caillat, Ingrid Michaelson, Rodrigo y Gabriela, Andrew Bird, and a slew of popular homegrown acts such as Flobots, Born in the Flood, the Photo Atlas, Meese, Rose Hill Drive and the Railbenders, among others.

The festival, as previously reported, was originally intended to be an inner-city event slated to take place at City Park. Festival organizers, however, opted to move the event to Dick's Sporting Goods park in Commerce City after Denver Zoo officials made it clear somewhat after the fact that they would not endorse AEG Live's initial proposal.

Tickets for the festival, which go on sale on Saturday, March 29, will range from $150 for a two-day pass to $85 for single-day (plus service charges), at and or via phone at 1-866-461-6556. VIP packages will also be available for $495 (plus service charges).

Outside of the headliners, the lineup thus far (listed below with more acts to be announced) isn't quite as impressive as initially touted or even compared to similar festivals across the country, but it's still strong for a first outing -- particularly with the inclusion of locals -- and definitely worth circling on the calendar in red ink.

-- Dave Herrera

Saturday 7/19 Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers O.A.R. Michael Franti and Spearhead Steve Winwood Spoon moe. Citizen Cope Andrew Bird Josh Ritter State Radio JJ Grey & Mofro Bob Schneider Brett Dennen Newton Faulkner Meese Born In The Flood Railbenders

Sunday 7/20 Dave Matthews Band John Mayer The Black Crowes Rodrigo y Gabriela Flogging Molly Colbie Caillat OneRepublic The Roots Leftover Salmon Martin Sexton Flobots Ingrid Michaelson Grace Potter and the Nocturnals Tea Leaf Green Rose Hill Drive The New Mastersounds Serena Ryder The Photo Atlas