Beaver Creek hosts U.S. Ski & Snowboard Hall of Fame inductee ceremony April 9

Three Colorado ski legends will be inducted into the United States National Ski and Snowboard Hall of Fame next month at Beaver Creek's Gerald R. Ford Hall on April 9:

Jack Benedick (Golden, CO) lost both legs in the Vietnam War and went on to help develop the sport of adaptive skiing and bring the U.S. Adaptive Ski Team together with the U.S. Ski Team and the International Ski Federation.

Ansten Samuelstuen (Louisville, CO) represented the U.S. as a ski jumper in two Olympics and held the world record - 316 feet, set at Steamboat's Howelsen Hill in 1951 - for 12 years.

Sarah Will (Edwards, CO) helped start the adaptive skiing program at Vail after she was paralyzed in a skiing accident in 1988. She won 12 medals competing at four Paralympic Games as a member of the U.S. Ski Team.

Other 2010 inductees include Stu Campbell, Doug Coombs, Paul Robbins, Sepp Kober, and Chris Waddell.

Proceeds from the "mountain elegant" event benefit the U.S. National Ski & Snowboard Hall of Fame and the Colorado Ski & Snowboard Museum &Hall of Fame. Click to enlarge the image above for full details.