Things to Do

New Denver shows: Ben Harper, Empire of the Sun and Toro y Moi. On sale this weekend

Page 2 of 3

Hot on the heels of its set this past weekend at Red Rocks supporting Thievery Corporation, Toro y Moi has announced plans to return to Denver for a headlining show at the Ogden Theatre with Classixx on Wednesday, November 6. Tickets ($20.75) go on sale this Saturday, August 10, at 10 a.m.

Mike Doughty, the outspoken mastermind behind the lovable and lauded Soul Coughing, is back on the road again, but this time he's playing all Soul Coughing tunes. Show is slated for Tuesday, October 29, and tickets are $25.

Subhumans are due at the Marquis Theater on Thursday, November 7. Tickets ($15) go on sale this Friday, August 9. Rob Garza of Thievery Corporation, who was just at Red Rocks this past weekend, returns to Denver on Friday, November 15, with the Juan Maclean, who will be playing a DJ set at the Summit Music Hall. Tickets ($16-$20) go on sale this Friday, August 9.


NEW SHOWS / ON SALE DATES


BLUEBIRD THEATER

Bob Schneider: Tue., Oct. 8, 8 p.m., $25.75/$30.


BOULDER THEATER

Jake Shimabukuro: Tue., Oct. 8, 7 p.m., $30-$45. M. Doughty: Tue., Oct. 29, 7 p.m., $25.


CERVANTES' MASTERPIECE BALLROOM

The Infamous Stringdusters: Thu., Sept. 13, 9 p.m., $20/$25.


CERVANTES' OTHER SIDE
Rally Round the Family (Rage Against the Machine tribute): With MTHDS performing the Beastie Boys, Fri., Sept. 20, 9 p.m., $5/$10. Sister Sparrow & the Dirty Birds: With American Babies, Wed., Oct. 30, 9 p.m., $10/$12. Young Blood Brass Band: Wed., Oct. 16, 9 p.m., $8/$10.


ELLIE CAULKINS OPERA HOUSE

Ben Harper: Tue., Oct. 8, 8 p.m., $42.50-$75.


FILLMORE AUDITORIUM

Lee Brice: Fri., Nov. 8, 7 p.m., $26. Sleeping With Sirens: Wed., Nov. 13, 7 p.m., $22.50/$25.


FOX THEATRE

Brett Dennen: Mon., Nov. 11, 8:30 p.m., $20. Nicki Bluhm & the Gramblers: With Rayland Baxter, Thu., Sept. 26, 7:30 p.m., $15. The Polish Ambassador: Fri., Nov. 8, 8:30 p.m., $13/$15. Radical Something: With Down With Webster, Matty Mac and Splyt, Thu., Oct. 3, 8:30 p.m., $12-$30.


GOTHIC THEATRE

Les Claypool's Duo de Twang: Fri., Oct. 11, 9:30 p.m., $32.50.


LARIMER LOUNGE

Cashmere Cat: Fri., Aug. 23, 11:30 p.m., $12/$15. Melt-Banana: Mon., Oct. 21, 9 p.m., $15.75/$20. Rose's Pawn Shop: Thu., Aug. 29, 9 p.m., $8/$10.


MARQUIS THEATER

Night Riots: Tue., Sept. 10, $8/$10. Subhumans: Sun., Nov. 17, $15. Watain: With In Solitude, Fri., Oct. 18, 7 p.m., $20/$22.


MOE'S ORIGINAL BBQ

The Ghoulies: With the A-OKs, Nasty Bunch of Bitches, The Windermeres, Sat., Aug. 17, 9 p.m., $5-$7. King Tuff: Wed., Sept. 25, 9 p.m., $12-$14. Lightnin' Malcolm: Fri., Aug. 30, 9 p.m., $10-$12.


MOON ROOM AT THE SUMMIT MUSIC HALL

We Butter the Bread with Butter: With Incredible Me and the Fulfillment, Thu., Sept. 12, 7 p.m., $10/$12.


OGDEN THEATRE

Empire of the Sun: With Alpine, Tue., Oct. 29, 9 p.m., $35. Toro y Moi: With Classixx, Wed., Nov. 6, 8 p.m., $20.75. Tribal Seeds: With Tea Leaf Green, Sat., Oct. 12, 9 p.m., $21. We Came as Romans: With Silverstein, Chunk No! Captain Chunk, the Color Morale, Dangerkids, Sat., Oct. 5, 7 p.m., $22.


SUMMIT MUSIC HALL

Chief Keef: Sun., Sept. 1, $22.50/$25. (Hed) PE: Fri., Aug. 30, 7 p.m., $13/$15. Jake Miller: With Action Item, Air Dubai, Wed., Dec. 4, $22.50. Rob Garza (of Thievery Corporation) (DJ set): With the Juan MacLean (DJ set), Fri., Nov. 15, 8:30 p.m., $16/$20.


SWALLOW HILL

Austin Lounge Lizards: Sat., Sept. 21, 8 p.m., $18. Caravan of Thieves: Sat., Oct. 19, 8 p.m., $14.


THE WALNUT ROOM

von Grey: With SHEL, Mon., Sept. 30, 8 p.m., $10.

Continue reading for this week's Local Radio Playlists.

KEEP WESTWORD FREE... Since we started Westword, it has been defined as the free, independent voice of Denver, and we'd like to keep it that way. With local media under siege, it's more important than ever for us to rally support behind funding our local journalism. You can help by participating in our "I Support" program, allowing us to keep offering readers access to our incisive coverage of local news, food and culture with no paywalls.
Jon Solomon writes about music and nightlife for Westword, where he's been the Clubs Editor since 2006.
Contact: Jon Solomon