2013 Women of the World Poetry Slam

1 of 36
The 2013 Women of the World Poetry Slam brought nearly 80 poets from around the world to compete in Minneapolis from March 6-9, 2013. Denice Frohman took the first place title in the largest gathering of women slam poets. In addition to the four days of competitive poetry performance, the poets participated in workshops, open mics, and themed poetry slams. On Saturday evening, twelve poets took the stage at Aria to compete in the finals, with special opening performances by Desdamona and Katie Wirsing.

Finalists included Falu, Theresa Davis, Suzi Q. Smith, Ellyn Touchette (Youth Poetry Slam winner), Sierra DeMulder, Denice Frohman (Women of the World Poetry Slam winner), Eris Zion Venia, Meg Waldron, Laura Brown-Lavoie, Dominique Ashaheed, Denise Jolly, Porsha, and T. Miller.

Don't miss our exclusive with some of the night's competitors who responded to our writing prompt "Poetry is..." PHOTOS BY B FRESH PHOTOGRAPHY on March 9, 2013