MORE

Josh Ritter, Brett Dennen and More Will Play Swallow Hill's 35th Anniversary Show

Josh Ritter, Brett Dennen and More Will Play Swallow Hill's 35th Anniversary Show
Todd Owyoung for the Riverfront Times. More here.

Swallow Hill started as a little folk school in 1979. It has grown exponentially in recent years -- we have appraised you of a recent expansion to a second location in Lowry; a new, ambitious music school director and even an RV it plans to turn into a mobile school.

Swallow Hill has also become a concert promoter of note in the Denver area, booking some 250 concerts per year, including the entire Botanic Gardens Series. It will hold a 35th anniversary party this October at the Paramount Theatre featuring acoustic performances from human sunbeam Josh Ritter and Brett Dennen, among others. Tickets will be $30 to $45 and will go on sale this Friday, August 8 at 10 a.m.

See also: Meet Swallow Hill's New Music School Director, Who Has a Broad Definition of Folk

In addition to the headlining sets, the anniversary show will feature workshops, sing alongs, performances by student and faculty and more.

Look for the organization to continue to grow in the coming years, incorporating its talent buying power with its educational missions. Here's a list of all the organization's upcoming concerts, to give you an idea where it is today:

Upcoming Swallow Hill Concerts All shows at 8pm @ 71 E. Yale Ave. unless otherwise indicated

Wed Aug 6 Giddyup Kitty - 6:30pm @ Four Mile Historic Park Fri Aug 8 Mary Gauthier w/ Amy Speace Sat Aug 9 Blues & Brews - 12pm-10pm @ 1200 block of S. Pearl St., Denver Mon Aug 11 B.B. King - 7pm @ Denver Botanic Gardens - SOLD OUT Tue Aug 12 John Hiatt & The Combo and The Taj Mahal Trio - 7pm - SOLD OUT @ Denver Botanic Gardens Wed Aug 13 Sheryl Crow with special guests The Wild Feathers - 6:30pm - SOLD OUT @ Denver Botanic Gardens - Chatfield Wed Aug 13 Marrakech Express - 6:30pm @ Four Mile Historic Park Fri Aug 15 Junior Brown Sat Aug 16 The Fakebooks - Top of the Hill Faculty Concert Series Sun Aug 17 The Subdudes - The Original Lineup Reunited! w/ special guest SHEL- 7:30pm @ The Arvada Center Tue Aug 19 Gipsy Kings w/ Ole Noys - 7pm @ Denver Botanic Gardens - SOLD OUT Wed Aug 20 Southern Exposure - 6:30pm @ Four Mile Historic Park Fri Aug 22 The Manhattan Transfer w/ FACE - 7:30pm @ The Arvada Center Fri Aug 22 Carrie Newcomer Fri Aug 22 Michael Robin Sat Aug 23 The Blackberry Bushes String Band Sun Aug 24 Station Wagon Sessions: Road Trip feat. Jonny Barber - 3:00pm @ JCC Main Campus Wed Aug 27 Colbie Caillat - Gypsy Heart Tour w/ Alex & Sierra - 7:00pm @ Denver Botanic Gardens Sat Aug 30 The Mavericks - 7:30pm @ The Arvada Center Wed Sept 3 Martin Sexton w/Paper Bird - 7pm @ Denver Botanic Gardens Fri Sept 5 Suzy Bogguss Sat Sept 6 St. Vincent - 7pm @ Denver Botanic Gardens Sat Sept 6 Jim Lauderdale Thu Sept 11 Heather Maloney and Darlingside Fri Sept 12 Steve Riley & The Mamou Playboys Fri Sept 12 Richie Allen Buchborn Sat Sept 13 Chris Smither Sat Sept 13 Ronny Cox Trio Thu Sept 18 Phillip Mark Sat Sept 20 Buckwheat Zydeco Sat Sept 20 Perpetual Motion - Top of the Hill Faculty Concert Series Sat Sept 27 Beppe Gambetta Thur Oct 9 Jaspar Lepak Fri Oct 10 Brother Sun Sat Oct 11 Swallow Hill Music's 35th Anniversary Celebration feat. Josh Ritter (solo) w/ Brett Dennen and more @ The Paramount Theater - 7:30pm Sat Oct 11 Rebecca Folsom and Sally Barris Thu Oct 16 Daniella Katzir Band feat. the Leftover Salmon rhythm section Fri Oct 17 Patty Griffin w/ John Fullbright @ The Oriental Theater Sat Oct 18 Tom Paxton w/ Grubstake Fri Oct 24 Caravan of Thieves Thu Nov 13 Folk Ragout feat. Ryan Marvel Sat Nov 22 Strange Americans - Top of the Hill Faculty Concert Series

• BACKBEAT'S GREATEST HITS • - The fifty best rap lyrics of all time - The ten biggest concert buzzkills - Five more concert buzzkills - From Phish to Floyd, the ten best light shows





Sponsor Content

Newsletters

All-access pass to top stories, events and offers around town.

Sign Up >

No Thanks!

Remind Me Later >