Music News

Call Me Lightning

The Trouble We're In, by Milwaukee's Call Me Lightning, doesn't open with either a whimper or a bang -- just the crackling hum of a crappy, over-cranked amp. But it's an omen, a stab of static that perfectly sets the tone for the unhinged, neck-snapping mayhem to follow. Formed out of the respectable post-hardcore outfits Akarso, Haymarket Riot and Hero of a Hundred Fights, the trio just released Trouble on Revelation Records, and the disc tears the throat out of rock and roll with knife-edged smarts and a highly developed sense of the absurd that recalls the most virulent discharge of the Minutemen and Scratch Acid -- or even the Starlite Desperation, if it worshiped No Wave instead of Nuggets. And believe it or not, this band that hails from the birthplace of Schlitz, Pabst and Miller apparently loves to get drunk and fuck shit up on stage. Come down to the Construct tonight and watch the Lightning lash out with its own current of striking, shock-conducting punk.
KEEP WESTWORD FREE... Since we started Westword, it has been defined as the free, independent voice of Denver, and we'd like to keep it that way. With local media under siege, it's more important than ever for us to rally support behind funding our local journalism. You can help by participating in our "I Support" program, allowing us to keep offering readers access to our incisive coverage of local news, food and culture with no paywalls.
Jason Heller
Contact: Jason Heller

Latest Stories