Things to Do

Pretty Lights with the Symphony, Kings of Leon and more on sale this weekend

Pretty Lights returns to Red Rocks for a two-night stand on Friday, August 8 and Saturday, August 9 but the this time around local producer Derek Vincent Smith will have a full band on board as well as thirteen members of the Colorado Symphony. Tickets ($44.50 advance, $50 day of show) go on sale on Friday, April 25 at 10 a.m.

On his first major tour since 2010, Maxwell brings his Summer Soulstice tour to the 1STBANK Center on Wednesday, June 18. Reserved seats ($49.50-$120) go on sale on Friday, April 25 at 10 a.m.

Kings of Leon bring the third leg of its Mechanical Bull tour to Red Rocks on Wednesday, September 24. Young the Giant and Kongos will open. General admission ($49.50) and reserved tickets ($74) go on sale on Saturday, April 26 at 10 a.m.

See also: All upcoming concerts in our constantly updated Denver Concert Calendar


NEW SHOWS / ON SALE DATES


BLUEBIRD THEATER

Chief Greenbud: Sun., June 1, 8 p.m., $10/$13. DJ noDJ: Fri., June 13, 9 p.m., $15/$18. Nick Waterhouse: Mon., July 21, 8 p.m., $15/$20. Swans: Tue., Sept. 2, 8 p.m., $20.75/$25.


<BOULDER THEATER

Ethan Bortnick - The Power of Music: With Damian McGinty, Sat., June 21, 6:30 p.m., $39. Shakedown Street: With DeadPhish Orchestra, Fri., May 9, 7:30 p.m., $12.50.


DENVER BOTANIC GARDENS AT CHATFIELD

Sara Bareilles: Sat., Aug. 2, 6:30 p.m., $47-$52.


1STBANK CENTER

Maxwell: Wed., June 18, 8 p.m., $49.50-$120.


FOX THEATRE

Chief Greenbud: Fri., May 30, 8:30 p.m., $10/$13. Independence Day Music Showcase: With The Mic Feelz Show featuring 303's Finest! with Mic Feelz, Deuces, MC Uriah, Jay Kay & Mike Rich, Kenyo, Hazy, Loktavious and Grimmace, Sat., July 5, $14/$16. Jamestown Revival: With Sons of Fathers and Kris Orlowski, Fri., June 6, 8:30 p.m., $12.50/$15. A Live One (Phish tribute): Thu., June 26, 8:30 p.m., $10-$12. Nightmares on Wax (live): Fri., June 27, 8:30 p.m., $18/$20. Paul Kimbiris & Paper Stars: With Lesley Kernochan, Sat., June 28, 8:30 p.m., $10/$12. Pomplamoose: Mon., Oct. 6, 8 p.m., $15/$17.


GOTHIC THEATRE

Presidents of the United States of America: Wed., Aug. 20, 8 p.m., $25.75. Ted Nugent: Wed., July 30, 8 p.m., $35.


MARQUIS THEATER

Andrew Jackson Jihad: With Hard Girls and Dogbreath, Sun., July 13, 7 p.m., $15. Cult of the Lost Cause: With Mako 1972, Thu., May 8, 7 p.m., $8/$10. The Damn Quails: With Midnight River Choir, Sat., Aug. 9, $10/$12. Discount Cinema: With Staring at Shipwrecks, LaRissa Vienna, Sat., June 7, 7 p.m., $5/$10. Man With a Mission: Thu., July 3, $10/$12. Matt Hires: With the Wild After and Kyle Cox, Thu., May 22, 7 p.m., $10/$12.


OGDEN THEATRE

George Clinton & Parliament Funkadelic: Fri., Sept. 12, 8 p.m., $30/$35. The Meter Men: Featuring George Porter Jr, Leo Nocentelli, Zigaboo Modeliste, and special guest John Gros, Thu., Sept. 11, 8 p.m., $30. MS MR: Wed., May 28, 8 p.m., $38.50. Passenger: Wed., Sept. 3, 8 p.m., $25.


RED ROCKS AMPHITHEATRE

Crosby, Stills & Nash: Tue., Sept. 23, 7:30 p.m., $49.50-$99.50. Kings of Leon: Wed., Sept. 24, 7 p.m., $49.50-$74.50. Pretty Lights: Featuring full live band and members of the Colorado Symphony, Fri., Aug. 8, 7:30 p.m.; Sat., Aug. 9, 7:30 p.m., $44.50/$50. Under the Influence of Music Tour: Featuring Wiz Khalifa, Tyga, Ty Dolla $ign, Rich Homie Quan, Mack Wilds, DJ Drama, Tue., Aug. 19,


SUMMIT MUSIC HALL

Victory Heights: Sat., June 28, 7 p.m., $10/$12.

• BACKBEAT'S GREATEST HITS • - The fifty best rap lyrics of all time - The ten biggest concert buzzkills - Five more concert buzzkills - From Phish to Floyd, the ten best light shows




KEEP WESTWORD FREE... Since we started Westword, it has been defined as the free, independent voice of Denver, and we'd like to keep it that way. With local media under siege, it's more important than ever for us to rally support behind funding our local journalism. You can help by participating in our "I Support" program, allowing us to keep offering readers access to our incisive coverage of local news, food and culture with no paywalls.
Jon Solomon writes about music and nightlife for Westword, where he's been the Clubs Editor since 2006.
Contact: Jon Solomon