SubSynthesis/GlitchDrop release new comp

There's no denying that electronic music is particularly glitch- and dub-heavy these days -- and, in an announcement that will no doubt thrill fans of that sound, SubSynthesis and GlitchDrop have released a new compilation album, Bass From Above - Vol. 1.

On the compilation, you'll find exclusive original tracks by an array of artists; the goal here is to help create "a continuous series of releases designed to garner exposure for many of the industry's greatest up-and-coming artist," notes Ethan Baer of SubSynthesis. "By releasing volumes of exclusive original tracks, all of the participating artists become members of an ongoing cross-promotional entity designed to increase exposure far beyond the fan bass of any individual artist."

The comp is posted for free on Bandcamp, as well as a few other outlets, and Baer promises any donations will be used to promote future releases; no profits will be earned by SubSynthesis or Glitch Drop. The artists appearing on Bass From Above, in no particular order:

Protohype Billy Blacklight Omega GriZ (GK) Gladkill Freddy Todd The Candyman Elfkowitz Stephan Jacobs Frequent-C Slim Thugz (Frequent-C + The Candyman) Unlimited Gravity Project Aspect Mimi Page Sugarpill Cloud-D Wyatt Lamond Robotic Pirate Monkeys iONik Pairadimez (iONik + r.e.g.)

We use cookies to collect and analyze information on site performance and usage, and to enhance and customize content and advertisements. By clicking 'X' or continuing to use the site, you agree to allow cookies to be placed. To find out more, visit our cookies policy and our privacy policy.


All-access pass to the top stories, events and offers around town.

  • Top Stories


All-access pass to top stories, events and offers around town.

Sign Up >

No Thanks!

Remind Me Later >