Marijuana election round-up: More losses than wins for MMJ in Colorado

While the big weed setback last week might have been the defeat of California's Proposition 19, marijuana didn't fare too well in Colorado, either. As per the state's new medical marijuana laws, local officials are now allowed to ask voters whether or not their communities should allow dispensaries and affiliated businesses to operate. Last Tuesday, such votes went forward in fifteen counties and 28 cities and towns statewide -- and when the dust settled, MMJ had taken a beating.

While major communities like El Paso County and Pueblo embraced medical marijuana businesses, many more locales decided to ban MMJ businesses outright. To see the final score, check out our breakdown below:

Counties voting to ban MMJ: Broomfield, Conejos, Custer, Douglas, Mesa, Moffat, Montrose, Otero and Washington

Counties voting to allow MMJ: Alamosa, Costilla, El Paso, Eagle, Garfield and Park

Cities voting to ban MMJ: Aurora, Federal Heights, Jamestown, Broomfield, Antonito, Sugar City, Paonia, Lone Tree, Castle Pines North, Elizabeth, Fountain, Granby, Hot Sulphur Springs, Town of Lake City, Loveland, Windsor, De Beque, Dinosaur, Olathe, Hillrose, La Junta, Ouray, Akron, Otis

Cities voting to allow MMJ: Minturn, Ramah, Fraser, Pueblo

More from our Marijuana archive: "Marijuana legalization: Did Obama's 'pot cheat sheet' kill California's Proposition 19?"

We use cookies to collect and analyze information on site performance and usage, and to enhance and customize content and advertisements. By clicking 'X' or continuing to use the site, you agree to allow cookies to be placed. To find out more, visit our cookies policy and our privacy policy.


Join the Westword community and help support independent local journalism in Denver.


Join the Westword community and help support independent local journalism in Denver.