Mile Highlights: Denver/Boulder area concert news, local radio playlists and top album sales

Mile Highlights: Denver/Boulder area concert news, local radio playlists and top album sales

Here's what's hot this week in music on the Front Range: On the concert front, new shows featuring Aerosmith and Cheap Trick, Pretty Lights, Tenacious D, Umphrey's Mcgee and more were announced; Overcasters, Lumineers, Churchill and the Jekylls got spins on local radio; and recent albums from the Shins, the Men, Odd Future were the top sellers at our local record stores. Page down for a complete rundown.

This Just In: New Concerts and On-Sale Dates

A spate of new concerts were announced in the past week, including Aerosmith and Cheap Trick at the Pepsi Center on Wednesday, August 1, Norah Jones at Red Rocks on Thursday, August 23, Dead Can Dance at the Temple Buell Theatre on Sunday, August 19, Crosby, Stills & Nash at Red Rocks on Tuesday, August 21, Pretty Lights at Red Rocks on August 17-18, and Tenacious D at Red Rocks on July 26 and Umphrey's Mcgee at Red Rocks on September 14.


Lazer Sword: Fri., June 8.

Bob Schneider: With Laura Warshauer, Fri., June 1, 8 p.m., $25/$30.


The David Grisman Bluegrass Experience: Fri., July 13, 8:30 p.m., $30/$32.50.


Lazerdisk Party Sex: Last Day of Finals Party: Thu., May 10, 8:30 p.m., $15/$17.

Mariachi El Bronx: With Two Gallants, Thu., May 17, 9 p.m., $15/$17


Coup Stick: With Dirty Lightning, One Way To Hell, A Day Dream Suicide, Fri., April 6, 8 p.m., $8/$12.


Air Supply: Sun., June 24, 6:30 p.m., $10-$27.

Firefall: With special guests Chris Daniels & the Kings, Sun., July 22, 6:30 p.m., $10-$20.

Lee Greenwood: July 3-4, 7 p.m., $10-$29.

The Guess Who: Sun., June 3, 6:30 p.m., $10-$27.

Kansas: Sun., July 15, 6:30 p.m., $10-$29.

Nitty Gritty Dirt Band: Sun., June 17, 6:30 p.m., $10-$27.

The Orchestra (featuring former members of ELO and ELO Part II): Sun., Aug. 12, 6:30 p.m., $10-$27.

Rick Springfield: Sun., July 29, 6:30 p.m., $10-$35.

Super Diamond: Sun., Aug. 26, 6:30 p.m., $10-$21.

Joe Walsh: Sun., Aug. 19, 6:30 p.m., $10-$52.


Japandroids: Tue., June 19, 9 p.m., $15/$18.

Milo Greene: Tue., May 22, 9 p.m., $8/$10.

US Royalty: Wed., April 11, $8/$10.


Imagine Dragons: Fri., April 27.

Peelander-Z: Wed., May 2.


Terry Malts: With the Foot, Sat., April 28, $7/$10.

Smile Empty Soul: With The Veer Union, Ionia, Thu., May 17, $10/$13.


Aerosmith: With Cheap Trick, Wed., Aug. 1, 7:30 p.m., $39.50-$149.50.


311: With Slightly Stoopid and SOJA, Sun., Aug. 19.

Crosby, Stills & Nash: Tue., Aug. 21, 7:30 p.m., $49.50-$101.50.

Norah Jones: Thu., Aug. 23, 7:30 p.m., $39.95-$65.

Pretty Lights: Aug. 17-18, 7:30 p.m., $43.50-$45/VIP $75.

Tenacious D: With the Sights, Thu., July 26, 8 p.m., $39.95-$45.


Balkan Beat Box: Tue., June 5.

Street Dogs: With the Aggrolites and Old Man Markley, Thu., May 24.


Dead Can Dance: Sun., Aug. 19, 8 p.m., $49.75-$99.50.

Click through for this week's Local Radio Playlists
Mile Highlights: Denver/Boulder area concert news, local radio playlists and top album sales

We're currently tracking the playlists from a number of different shows, including KTCL's Locals Only, Radio 1190's Local Shakedown*, 99.5 the Mountain's Homegrown Show*, The Colorado Sound, an independently produced show that is broadcast all over Colorado, and The Colorado Wave, which is syndicated on a number of stations across the country. Here's what the area's local-centric specialty radio shows were spinning this week. *Playlist not available



Overcasters - "Storm of Crows"

Petals of Spain - "Lady Luck"

Calling Out West - "These Chemical Mixes"

Shoot to Please - "Sleep Alone"

No More Excuses - "The Pharmacist"

Ashtree - "I'm Sure"

Beats Noir - "Castaways"

Umconscious - "Energy"

John Vlasic - "Love for Rock"

Matt Morris - "Live Forever"

Lexigram - "Zombie Cheer Camp"

Common Anomaly - "Void"



Dan Fogelberg "Stars"

Coles Whalen "Paper Airplane"

JD Feighner "Feel The Way I Do"

Beats Noir! "Not For You"

Future Jazz Project "Faded Memories"

Catch Bees "Atlanta"

Lumineers "Big Parade"

The Jekylls "Where Were You"

Boenzee Cryque "I've Never Known A Girl"

J. Miller Band "The Reasons"

Finnders and Youngberg "Nebraska"

Paper Bird "Steady As"

Greg Garrison "Blackwell's Reel"

Otis Taylor "Walk Right In"

Katie Glassman "Bye Bye Boise"

Grant Farm "I Come From the Country"

Charlotte Sass "Not Alone"

OneRepublic "Everybody Loves Me"

Achille Lauro "Upward Away From the Ground"

Churchill "Change"

The Pretty Sure "Hot Sass"

Johnny Hickman "The Great Decline"

Patti Fiasco "Someone Tell Me"

Musketeer Gripweed "Thief"

Fox Street Allstars "Baby Don't Fight It"

Lelah Simon "To Be Oblique"



Brendan McKinney - What's Up How Ya Doin'

Kathy Baille - All Fall Down

Be Thou My Vision - Tired & Stressed

Dusty Hughes - Can You Hear Me

Treva Blomquist & The Suits - Love Abounds

Rey Feo - Honey Go Home

Elmo Chesterhazy - All I Can Do Is Sing

Hillbilly Hellcats - Rockinest Cat In Town

Kim Ciara - The Somniloquist

Digby - 100% Free

The Munks - Believe

Stringbean & The Stalkers - Pepper Shack

Click through for this week's Top Sellers

Top Local Sellers - Albums & Downloads

Mile Highlights: Denver/Boulder area concert news, local radio playlists and top album sales

The Shins' Port of Morrow, released last week on Columbia, took the top spots at Albums on the Hill, Independent Records and Twist & Shout, while The Men's Open Your Heart was first at Wax Trax. Odd Future's OF Tape 2 , also released last week on Columbia, came in second at Albums on the Hill, third at Independent Records and tenth at Twist & Shout.


01. The Shins - Port of Morrow

02. Odd Future - OF Tape 2

03. Gregory Alan Isakov - This Empty Northern Hemisphere

04. The Men - Open Your Heart

05. Black Keys - El Camino

06. Delta Spirit - Delta Spirit

07. Islands - A Sleep & A Forgetting

08. Dr. Dog - Be the Void

09. Skrillex - Bangarang

10. Yellow Ostrich - Strange Land


01. The Shins - Port of Morrow

02. Tyga - Careless World Rise of the Last King

03. Odd Future - OF Tape 2

04. Young Jeezy - TM 103

05. Drake - Take Care

06. Gotye - Making Mirrors

07. C-Bo - Cali Connection

08. J. Cole - Cole World: the Sideline Story

09. Skrillex - Scary Monsters and Nice Sprites

10. Skrillex - Bangarang


01. The Shins - Port of Morrow

02. Fun. - Some Nights

03. Bruce Springsteen - Wrecking Ball

04. Esperanza Spalding - Radio Music Society

05. Andrew Bird - Break It Yourself

06. Lyle Lovett - Release Me

07. Punch Brothers - Who's Feeling Young

08. Lucero - Women & Work

09. Gotye - Making Mirrors

10. Odd Future - OF Tape 2


01. The Men - Open Your Heart

02. Magnetic Fields - Love at the Bottom of the Sea

03. Ting Tings - Sounds From Nowheresville

04. Andrew Bird - Break It Yourself

05. Speedwolf - Ride With Death

06. Lucero - Women & Work

07. Sleigh Bells - Reign of Terror

08. Mark Lanegan Band - Blues Funeral


10. Die Antwoord - Ten$ion


01. TJR - "Funky Vodka" (original mix)

02. Arty, Matisse & Sadko - "Trio" (original mix)

03. David Guetta, Sia, Nicky Romero - "Wild One Two" (original mix)

04. Ivan Gough - "In My Mind" (original mix)

05. Sander van Doorn - "Chasin'" (original mix)

06. Nick Romero - "Generation 303" (original mix)

07. Nari & Milani - "Up" (original mix)

08. Claptone - "Cream" (original mix)

09. Madeon - "Icarus" (extended mix)

10. Bingo Players - "L'Amour" (original mix)



Black & Read

Atomic Records (formerly Cheapo Discs)

Vinyl Collective

Sponsor Content