Details of Jon Snodgrass's new album revealed

Keep Westword Free
I Support
  • Local
  • Community
  • Journalism
  • logo

Support the independent voice of Denver and help keep the future of Westword free.

Jon Snodgrass, one half of the almighty Drag the River, is preparing to release his debut solo effort. The album, Visitor's Band, which is slated for release on Tuesday, February 4, on Suburban Home Records, features a slew of guests, including Two Cow Garage, Chad Rex, Joey Erg, Chris Pierce and Eric Powers, among others. According to label owner Virgil Dickerson, the tracks meld the "hard-edged rock you expect from Armchair Martian," Snodgrass's previous band, with "the more rootsy sounds you might expect to hear with Drag the River."

Last week, we debuted a track from the record called Remember My Name on Mile Hi-Fidelity and have had the chance to listen to the rest of the disc. Needless to say, Dickerson's assessment is pretty spot-on.

Visitor's Band will be available on disc and vinyl -- 300 copies on black vinyl and 700 on clear vinyl -- and Dickerson reports that he's currently trying to get Snodgrass to co-sign a batch of new merch, in particular a shirt with his face above the slogan "What would Jon Do?" So far he's not having much luck. Ditto a "What Would Jon Drink?" pint glass.

And just in case you couldn't get enough Drag in your diet, the band is also preparing to issue a new release with a title that is bound to continue to confound fans regarding the band's status. Broke up? Not broke up? That disc, fittingly titled Bad at Breaking Up, will reportedly contain tracks that were previously only available on seven-inch vinyl, B-sides and tunes from the group's split with the Dents.

If all that sounds good to you, head over to the Suburban Home website to listen to tracks from Jon's new record and to pre-order both releases. If you're one of the first 1,000 folks to purchase the Drag disc, you'll get your hands on a Drag the River guitar pick. In the meantime, here's the full track listing for Visitor's Band.

Track Listing:
1. Brave With Strangers
2. Thru the Fan
3. Remember My Name
4. Song for Jake Nichols to Sing
5. Finally
6. Fast in Last
7. Long Way Found
8. Fast One Sloe
9. Not That Rad
10. Murderfield
11. Visitor's Band

Keep Westword Free... Since we started Westword, it has been defined as the free, independent voice of Denver, and we would like to keep it that way. Offering our readers free access to incisive coverage of local news, food and culture. Producing stories on everything from political scandals to the hottest new bands, with gutsy reporting, stylish writing, and staffers who've won everything from the Society of Professional Journalists' Sigma Delta Chi feature-writing award to the Casey Medal for Meritorious Journalism. But with local journalism's existence under siege and advertising revenue setbacks having a larger impact, it is important now more than ever for us to rally support behind funding our local journalism. You can help by participating in our "I Support" membership program, allowing us to keep covering Denver with no paywalls.

We use cookies to collect and analyze information on site performance and usage, and to enhance and customize content and advertisements. By clicking 'X' or continuing to use the site, you agree to allow cookies to be placed. To find out more, visit our cookies policy and our privacy policy.


Join the Westword community and help support independent local journalism in Denver.


Join the Westword community and help support independent local journalism in Denver.