4

This Just In: Pavement, Public Image Limited, Sting shows announced

^
Keep Westword Free
I Support
  • Local
  • Community
  • Journalism
  • logo

Support the independent voice of Denver and help keep the future of Westword free.

It was a hell of a week for show announcements, including rock legends, reunion tours and bit of everything in between. One of the most anticipated tours of the year is Pavement, who played its first show in a decade in New Zealand yesterday (photo of the setlist of that show here).

While waiting ten years to finally see these guys play again might seem a long time, then another six months should be that big of a deal when the band comes to 1STBANK Center in Broomfield Thursday, September 9. Tickets are $30 go on sale Friday, March 12 at 10 a.m.

Maybe John Lydon wasn't making enough bread doing butter commercials and reunion shows with the Sex Pistols, but the guy's giving it another go. This time he's taking Public Image Limited on the road with Lu Edmonds and Bruce Smith, who both played with the group during the '80s, and newcomer Scott Firth, who's played with Elvis Costello and Steve Winwood. The group played seven UK gigs last December, which marked PiL's first shows in seventeen years, and kicks off its North American tour at Coachella before visiting the Ogden Theatre Saturday, April 24. Tickets, $39.50, go on sale Friday, March 5 at 10 a.m.

Sting, who played a pair of shows with the Police at Red Rocks two years ago, returns to the venue Wednesday, June 9 with the Royal Philharmonic Concert Orchestra. He'll be digging into some of his most celebrated material, which will be re-imagined for symphonic arrangement. Steven Mercurio, who's worked with Luciano Pavarotti and Andrea Bocelli, conducts the symphony. Tickets are $50.50 to $180.50 and go on sale Monday, March 8 at 10 a.m.

Other shows on sale soon include the Eagles at the Pepsi Center Thursday, May 20, Carole King & James Taylor at the Pepsi Center Wednesday July 14 and Sublime, featuring original members Bud Gaugh and Eric Wilson and new singer Rome, hit the road for the first time in fourteen years and stop at the Fillmore Monday April 26. Below are the other shows that have already been announced or are currently on sale.

Bluebird Theater The B Foundation: With Pigeon John, Thu., April 15, 8 p.m., $12-$15.   Green River Ordinance: Mon., April 5, 8 p.m., $10-$12. MONO: With Twilight Sad, Sat., May 15, 9 p.m., $15.50-$18. OK Go: With the Booze, Wed., April 14, 8 p.m., $15.50. Politic: With Sofo, My Orange Crush and Everfound, Sat., April 17, 8:30 p.m., $5-$10. Split Second Massacre: Wed., March 31, 8:30 p.m., $5-$10.

Boulder Theater Jesse Cook: Wed., June 30, $28. Indigo Girls: Wed., April 14, 8 p.m., $43.50.

Cervantes' Masterpiece Ballroom Camp Lo: Sat., March 20. Collie Budz: Thu., April 29.

Fillmore Auditorium Sublime with Rome: With Dirty Heads and Del Mar, Mon., April 26, 7:30 p.m., $25. hi-dive Dosh: With White Hinterland, Wed., May 12, $10/$12. Dusty Rhodes & the River Band: Wed., April 21, $10. Holly Golightly & the Broke-Offs: Tue., April 27, $10.

1STBANK Center Pavement: Thu., Sept. 9, $30.

Larimer Lounge The Growlers: Fri., April 16, $10/$13. Heartless Bastards: Wed., May 12, $13/$15. Overcasters: Fri., April 9, $5/$10. Radio Moscow: With Naam, Tue., April 27, $9. Patrick Watson: Wed., May 19, $12.

Marquis Theater As Tall as Lions: Sat., April 10.

Ogden Theatre Julian Casablancas: Wed., April 21, 8 p.m., $25-$30. Public Image Limited: Sat., April 24, 8 p.m., $39.50.

Pepsi Center The Eagles: Thu., May 20. Carole King & James Taylor: Wed., July 14, 7:30 p.m., $54.50-$125.  

Red Rocks Amphitheatre Sting: Performing his most celebrated songs, featuring the Royal Philharmonic Concert Orchestra conducted by Steven Mercurio, Wed., June 9, 8 p.m., $50.50- $180.50.

Soiled Dove Underground Grant-Lee Phillips: Fri., May 28.

Swallow Hill The Greencards: Sat., May 29. Storyhill (CD release): Fri., June 4. The Wiyos: Fri., June 11.

Keep Westword Free... Since we started Westword, it has been defined as the free, independent voice of Denver, and we would like to keep it that way. Offering our readers free access to incisive coverage of local news, food and culture. Producing stories on everything from political scandals to the hottest new bands, with gutsy reporting, stylish writing, and staffers who've won everything from the Society of Professional Journalists' Sigma Delta Chi feature-writing award to the Casey Medal for Meritorious Journalism. But with local journalism's existence under siege and advertising revenue setbacks having a larger impact, it is important now more than ever for us to rally support behind funding our local journalism. You can help by participating in our "I Support" membership program, allowing us to keep covering Denver with no paywalls.

We use cookies to collect and analyze information on site performance and usage, and to enhance and customize content and advertisements. By clicking 'X' or continuing to use the site, you agree to allow cookies to be placed. To find out more, visit our cookies policy and our privacy policy.

 

Join the Westword community and help support independent local journalism in Denver.

 

Join the Westword community and help support independent local journalism in Denver.