The Westword Music Award Winners of 2017

The Westword Music Award Winners of 2017EXPAND
Keep Westword Free
I Support
  • Local
  • Community
  • Journalism
  • logo

Support the independent voice of Denver and help keep the future of Westword free.

The votes are in. The winners of the 2017 Westword Music Award were announced Tuesday, June 27, at Globe Hall.

Competition was fierce, many a talented act did not win, but at the end of the day, Westword readers voted, and here is what you decided.

Club DJ: Lea Luna

Electronica: Mirror Fears

Hip-Hop (DJ): DJ Low Key

Hip-Hop (Group): Wheelchair Sports Camp

Hip-Hop (Solo): Kitty Crimes

Blues: Otis Taylor Band

Funk: The Other Black

Indie Pop: The Lollygags

Jazz: Annie Booth

Pop: Retrofette

R&B/Soul: Hazel Miller

Americana: Pandas & People

Bluegrass: Trout Steak Revival

Country: Ryan Chrys & the Rough Cuts

Folk: Chimney Choir

Jam: The Magic Beans

Reggae: The Bunny Gang

Post-Punk: Pueblo Escobar

Psych Rock: déCollage

Rock: The Velveteers

Garage Punk: Colfax Speed Queen

Hardcore: Muscle Beach

Metal: Native Daughters

Punk: Cheap Perfume

Avant-Garde: Hamster Theatre

Cover/Tribute: Fauxgazi

Experimental: Itchy-O

Industrial: Echo Beds

Latin: Los Mocochetes

Singer-Songwriter: Natalie Tate

Keep Westword Free... Since we started Westword, it has been defined as the free, independent voice of Denver, and we would like to keep it that way. Offering our readers free access to incisive coverage of local news, food and culture. Producing stories on everything from political scandals to the hottest new bands, with gutsy reporting, stylish writing, and staffers who've won everything from the Society of Professional Journalists' Sigma Delta Chi feature-writing award to the Casey Medal for Meritorious Journalism. But with local journalism's existence under siege and advertising revenue setbacks having a larger impact, it is important now more than ever for us to rally support behind funding our local journalism. You can help by participating in our "I Support" membership program, allowing us to keep covering Denver with no paywalls.

We use cookies to collect and analyze information on site performance and usage, and to enhance and customize content and advertisements. By clicking 'X' or continuing to use the site, you agree to allow cookies to be placed. To find out more, visit our cookies policy and our privacy policy.


Join the Westword community and help support independent local journalism in Denver.


Join the Westword community and help support independent local journalism in Denver.