4

Flaming Lips, Modest Mouse, Frank Black shows annouced

The Flaming Lips know all about putting on a hell of a show, and the Monolith Festival gig at Red Rocks in 2007 was one most phenomenal things to happen to that venue in the last few years. Lets hope for a repeat performance when the Lips return to Red Rocks Sunday, August 23 with Explosions in the Sky and Star Death & the White Dwarfs, which features Wayne Coyne's nephew Dennis. Tickets, which run from $36.75 to $46.50, go on sale Saturday, June 20 at 10 a.m. And as an added bonus, all tickets sold online will include a digital download of three brand new unreleased songs from the upcoming album, three B-sides hand picked by Wayne Coyne and a live audio recording of the Red Rocks show. In other concert news, Modest Mouse will visit the Fillmore Auditorium Wednesday, September 2 and Frank Black plays the intimate Walnut Room Wednesday, July 29.

Bender's Tavern
Cobra Skills: With Only Thunder and the Copyrights, Tue., Aug. 4, 10 p.m., $5/$7.
Hemi Cuda: Fri., Aug. 14, 10 p.m., $6/$8.
Primasonic (CD release): With Bronze, Burn Sand Burn and Pitch Invasion, Fri., July 3, 10 p.m., $5.
When Dinosaurs Ruled the Earth: Fri., Aug. 28, 10 p.m., $5. 

Bluebird Theater
Cephalic Carnage: Sun., June 28, 8 p.m., $10.25/$12.
The Dodos: With Ruby Suns, Thu., Oct. 22, 8 p.m., $13.50/$15.
Led Zepagain (Led Zeppelin tribute): Thu., Sept. 3, 8 p.m., $13/$15.

Boulder Theater
The Airborne Toxic Event: Thu., Sept. 24, 9 p.m., $24.
The Psychedelic Furs: With Happy Mondays, Fri., Sept. 11, 8:30 p.m., $32.

Fiddler's Green
Lil Wayne: With Young Jeezy, Soulja Boy and Drake, Thu., Aug. 20, 6 p.m., $29.75-$125.75.

Fillmore Auditorium
Modest Mouse: Wed., Sept. 2, 8 p.m., $35.
Lupillo Rivera: Sat., Sept. 12, 9 p.m., $35.

Fox Theatre
Bon Iver: Sun., July 12, 9 p.m., $20.
Dressy Bessy: Sat., July 11, 9 p.m., $8/$12.
Magicgravy: Wed., July 15, 9 p.m., $5/$10.

Gothic Theatre
John Brown's Body: Fri., Sept. 18.
KMFDM: With Angel Spit, Fri., Oct. 9.
Supersuckers: Thu., July 30.  

hi-dive
Portugal the Man: Fri., Aug. 14.

Larimer Lounge
Now, Now Every Children: Sat., July 11, $8/$10.
Trash Can Sinatras: With Tyler Despres, Thu., Aug. 6, $10/$12

Ogden Theatre
Reel Big Fish: With the Supervillians, Sat., Aug. 8, 8 p.m., $18.50.

Red Rocks
The Flaming Lips: With Explosions in the Sky and Stardeath & the White Dwarfs, Sun., Aug. 23, 7:30 p.m., $36.75-$46.50. 
Flogging Molly: With Hepcat, Sat., Sept. 26, 8 p.m., $35-$39.50.
Monolith Festival: With Girl Talk, MSTRKRFT, Of Montreal, M. Ward, Phoenix, Method Man & Red Man, the Dandy Warhols, OK Go, Passion Pit, the Walkmen and more, Sept. 12-13.

Soiled Dove Underground
Colin Hay Band: Wed., Aug. 12.

The Walnut Room
Priscilla Ahn:  With Robert Francis, Thu., Aug. 13, 8 p.m., $12.
Frank Black: Wed., July 29, 8 p.m., $20.
Love and Theft: Fri., July 24, 7:30 p.m., $11.   

We use cookies to collect and analyze information on site performance and usage, and to enhance and customize content and advertisements. By clicking 'X' or continuing to use the site, you agree to allow cookies to be placed. To find out more, visit our cookies policy and our privacy policy.

Newsletters

All-access pass to the top stories, events and offers around town.

  • Top Stories
    Send:

Newsletters

All-access pass to top stories, events and offers around town.

Sign Up >

No Thanks!

Remind Me Later >