Keep Westword Free

Colorado Restaurant Association Presents Annual Industry Spotlight Awards

Every year, the Colorado Restaurant Association presents its Spotlight Awards for outstanding restaurants, restaurant owners and service-industry professionals from around the state. This year the dinner and awards ceremony takes place at the Stanley Marketplace in Aurora on Tuesday, June 27.

While Denver gets the bulk of the media attention when it comes to the Colorado food and restaurant scene, the CRA casts its net far and wide to recognize names that may not be familiar to those in the metro area. This year, winners come from Loveland, Colorado Springs, Dillon and Keystone, along with well-known Denver-Boulder eateries like the Squeaky Bean and Frasca.

The winner of the Richard P. Ayers Distinguished Service Award — which went to Derek Figueroa, chief operating officer of the Seattle Fish Co. last year — will be announced at tonight's dinner, but here's the complete list of the honorees that have already been announced:

Outstanding Media Professional Signature Dish: Teresa Farney, Colorado Springs Gazette

Philanthropist Signature Dish Award: Joshua Olsen and Johnny Ballen, the Squeaky Bean/ACRE Farm

Noel & Tammy Cunningham Humanitarian Award: Eddie and Dick Robinson, Robinson Dairy

Colorado Homes & Lifestyles Best Restaurant Design Award: Hearth & Dram

Pinnacol Assurance Safety Award: Dillon Dam Brewery

Exceptional Newcomer Signature Dish Award: Food Maven

Regional Outstanding Professional Signature Dish Award: Clay Caldwell, Mo' Betta Gumbo

I Support
  • Local
  • Community
  • Journalism
  • logo

Support the independent voice of Denver and help keep the future of Westword free.

Regional Outstanding Professional Signature Dish Award: Tony Leahy, Patty Jewett Bar & Grill

Outstanding Professional Signature Dish Award: Bobby Stuckey and Lachlan Mackinnon Patterson, Frasca Food & Wine

Outstanding Professional Signature Dish Award: Scott Skomal, Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel

Colorado Food Service Hall of Fame:
Jim Shields, Snake River Saloon & Steakhouse
Dave Query, Big Red F Restaurant Group
Gene Tang, 1515 Restaurant
The Mobell Family, Blue Bonnet Mexican Restaurant
Jim & Angelo Karagas, My Brother's Bar

The Colorado Restaurant Association represents more than 3,500 restaurant members around the state, offering advocacy and education for the service industry with programs like ProStart, ServSafe and culinary scholarships.

Keep Westword Free... Since we started Westword, it has been defined as the free, independent voice of Denver, and we would like to keep it that way. Offering our readers free access to incisive coverage of local news, food and culture. Producing stories on everything from political scandals to the hottest new bands, with gutsy reporting, stylish writing, and staffers who've won everything from the Society of Professional Journalists' Sigma Delta Chi feature-writing award to the Casey Medal for Meritorious Journalism. But with local journalism's existence under siege and advertising revenue setbacks having a larger impact, it is important now more than ever for us to rally support behind funding our local journalism. You can help by participating in our "I Support" membership program, allowing us to keep covering Denver with no paywalls.

We use cookies to collect and analyze information on site performance and usage, and to enhance and customize content and advertisements. By clicking 'X' or continuing to use the site, you agree to allow cookies to be placed. To find out more, visit our cookies policy and our privacy policy.


Join the Westword community and help support independent local journalism in Denver.


Join the Westword community and help support independent local journalism in Denver.